Plus sized endurance athletes, we exist!

Fantastic! Although, I would never run a whole marathon or compete in an Ironman, I support those crazy enough to do so no matter what their size!!

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Here’s Leah Gilbert, http://www.sportette.com.au/im-plus-size-im-athlete/

So why is it that I am in a rather unique position when I present myself as a Plus Size Endurance Athlete? Why aren’t we all out there seeking sponsorship or promoting our roles as athletes? It’s easy – most of us don’t even acknowledge ourselves as athletes because we know that physically we don’t fit the mould of what society believes an ‘athlete’ looks like. We have a tendency to what I call ‘cheapen’ or ‘discount’ our athletic or fitness pursuits because people can’t seem to marry the fitness with the body shape. So instead of saying “I just finished a tempo run where I worked at 1km race pace intervals for 11km with a 2km warm up and 2km cool down”, we may mention quickly that we had ‘just been for a run’, usually adding “but I’m not very fast” or “oh I just…

View original post 646 more words

Leave a Reply

Follow BraveGirl™ on WordPress.com
